Skip to content

Garbage Plates

November 12, 2013

Last weekend I was invited to tryout for the Dragons. The professional ultimate team based out of Rochester. http://www.rochesterdragons.com/

I had some drama in the morning to deal with, and almost missed my ride. I sped down I-87 and jumped into the carpool leaving from Schenectady.

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’ve longed for you too. My sweet, sweet, globular star matrix.

Image

Credit: N.A.Sharp, REU program/NOAO/AURA/NSF

The tryout started at 1PM, and took place in gloomy Genesee Valley Park. One round of cuts was already made, and I’d say there was about 60 people there. Very few returners were there, and I was led to believe that it would be a challenge to make the team if your goal was to get playing time and not hang out at the end of the bench, or in the player pool hoping for selection to a game day roster.

The tryouts were very well structured. The coach, and the staff were dispersed among the groups we split in to. The big difference between club and pro tryouts- movement. Every drill involved running, and changing direction. My muscles weren’t so happy about being vaulted out of the off season; they bent, but did not break.

I enjoyed the focus on movement. This really fits my game. I like to push the action from the back field, running the channels aggressively. I felt confident going into a 4 vs. 4 mini game, which was then broken down further to 3 vs. 3, and then 2 vs. 2. I’m going to loop back to this at the end of this entry.

We then went full field to work on the offensive sets, and then scrimmage. The team is working on a variation of a vert stack, that I have not seen before. Those channels that I like to run, were not available for me in the set, and I struggled to adjust.

Sunday, I had a big drop off in my level of play. I’m just out of shape. However, I made a good enough impression that I made it through to the next round. I’m motivated, and excited for this opportunity. It would be a dream to outfit my parents with #84 jerseys.

Things to do:

  1. Recoup
  2. Get in great physical shape (The AUDL field is wide)
  3. Throw Every Day
  4. Become a youtube celebrity
One Comment leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 21, 2013 11:53 am

    Congrats Sonny! THat’s awesome to hear! If you need a throwing or workout partner ever, Hit me up! I’ll gladly help out wherever I can!
    -Mitch

Leave a Reply

